top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Ash Fitzgerald

TEDTalks

Updated: May 7, 2020

Below is a diagram with the takeaway from the TED talk I chose, Liberal islamophobia.




I chose mine because it seemed to fit really well with Mrs Gergen's choice. We tend only to hear stories of arab or black muslims, converts, especially white converts are not really represented in media very often. This type of focusing representation on the most affected groups tends to reduce characters to a single dimension, their identity. That sort of portrayal of individuals leads to liberal identity politics and representation culture in mass media, yet another form of capitalist propaganda.


The rhetoric they use in their speeches was also very effective. Their talks were aimed at people who are usually unreceptive to criticism, though in different ways. Liberal Islamophobia is aimed at liberals who in have come to the conclusion they have no more room to grow politically and thus have stagnated at misguided at best attempts to support marginalized communities which usually end up marginalizing them further. The Danger of a Single Story is aimed at anyone with prejudices, usually who are unwilling to grow out of them. The talks very effectively reach to those groups to further a mutual understanding and encourage growth.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final project update #2 5/29

So far my list of defined terms are: Propaganda - I will be using my own definition of this word, just to narrow such a broad concept...

Final project sketch

For my final project I would like to cover a couple different topics. I would like to talk about differences I've noticed with regards to...

Comments


bottom of page